Football Scoop & AstroTurf Present Annual Coach of the Year Honors

Nashville, TN – The 2019 football season has been full of great performances, amazing plays and outstanding coaching.  As the season comes to close one of our favorite things to do is to announce the winners of the Footbal lScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf. These awards are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football.

The finalists for each award were selected from nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic director personnel. The prior winners of the award then choose the winner from the list of finalists. If asked, most of the winners will tell you that this award means much more than others because it is chosen by their peers.  Now in its eleventh year, the Football Scoop Awards presented by AstroTurf has grown into a highly anticipated event within the football coaching profession. Awards are handed out to the winners at a reception during the American Football Coaches Association Convention each year.

Offensive Coordinators of the Year – Steve Ensminger and Joe Brady, LSU.

Defensive Coordinator of the Year – Phil Snow, Baylor University.

Special Teams Coordinator of the Year – Blake Gideon, University of Houston.

Quarterbacks Coach of the Year – Steve Ensminger, LSU.

Running Backs Coach of the Year – Jabbar Juke of the University of Louisiana.

Wide Receiver Coach of the Year – Jeff Scott, Clemson University.

Offensive Line Coach of the Year – James Cregg, LSU.

Defensive Line Coach – David Turner – University of Florida.

Linebackers Coach of the Year – Tim DeRuyter and Peter Sirmon, University of California.

Defensive Backs Coach of the Year – Mickey Conn & Mike Reed of Clemson University.

Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year – Tommy Moffitt, LSU.

Football Operations Director of the Year – Randy Ross of the University of Arkansas

FCS Coordinator of the Year – Shane Montgomery of James Madison University.

DII Coordinator of the Year – Joe Beschorner, Minnesota State University.

DIII Coordinator of the Year – Brad Spencer, North Central College.

NAIA Coordinator of the Year – Casey Jacobsen and Nathan Turner of Morningside College.

Football Scoop and AstroTurf are excited to partner together to present these well-deserved awards each year. “Anytime that you can acknowledge hard work, success, drive and commitment it is a good thing”, says Gary Jones, Director of Marketing for AstroTurf. “Being able to recognize those people who are so well-respected in their profession is one our favorite things we get to do each year.”For more information about each individual award, please visit

About Football Scoop
 Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing firsthand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.

About AstroTurf®
For athletes and sport enthusiasts, AstroTurf® has redefined the way the game is played. The brand offers advanced, state-of-the-art, multi-sport and specialized synthetic turf systems with proprietary engineered technologies. A growing number of high schools, colleges, professional sports teams and municipalities continue to select AstroTurf-branded products for their premium quality, technical superiority, and safety.  To learn more, visit AstroTurf’s newly redesigned website at