FootballScoop & AstroTurf Present Annual Coach of the Year Honors

The 2018 football season has been full of great performances, amazing plays and outstanding coaching.  As the season comes to close one of our favorite things to do is to announce the winners of the FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf. These awards are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football.

The finalists for each award were selected off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic director personnel. The prior winners of the award then choose the winner from the list of finalists. If asked, most of the winners will tell you that this award means much more than others because it is chosen by their peers.  Now in its eleventh year, the FootballScoop Awards presented by AstroTurf has grown into a highly anticipated event within the football coaching profession. Awards are handed out to the winners at a reception during the American Football Coaches Association Convention each year.

This year’s winners include:  Offensive Coordinator of the Year, Mike Locksley of the University of Alabama.  Defensive Coordinator of the Year, Bob Shoop, Mississippi State University; Special Teams Coordinator of the Year, Jeff Banks, Alabama;  Quarterbacks Coach of the Year, Tommy Rees, Notre Dame;  Running Backs Coach of the Year, Tim Albin, Ohio University; Wide Receivers Coach of the Year, Tyron Carrier, West Virginia; Offensive Line Coach of the Year, Glen Elarbee, University of Central Florida;  Defensive Line Coaches of the Year, Ron Burton & Chuck Bullough, Michigan State University; Linebackers Coach of the Year, Dave Aranda, LSU;  Defensive Backs Coaches of the Year, Bryan Brown and Greg Gasparato, Appalachian State University; Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year, Lew Caralla, University of Buffalo; Football Operations Director of the Year, Shane Elders, North Texas; FCS Coordinator of the Year, Matt Entz, North Dakota State University;  DII Coordinator of the Year, Donnell Leomiti, Colorado State University-Pueblo; DIII Coordinator of the Year, Mike Fox, The College at Brockport; NAIA Coordinator of the Year, Luke Lueders, Morningside College; Director of Player Personnel, Matt Lindsey, University of South Carolina.

FootballScoop and AstroTurf are excited to partner together to present these well-deserved awards each year. “Anytime that you can acknowledge hard work, success, drive and commitment it’s a good thing”, says Gary Jones, Communications Manager for AstroTurf. “Being able to recognize those people who are so well-respected in their profession by their peers is one our favorite things we get to do each year.”

For more information about each individual award, please visit

About FootballScoop
 Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.

About AstroTurf®

For athletes and sport enthusiasts, AstroTurf® has redefined the way the game is played. The brand offers advanced, state-of-the-art, multi-sport and specialized synthetic turf systems with proprietary engineered technologies. A growing number of high schools, colleges, professional sports teams and municipalities continue to select AstroTurf-branded products for their premium quality, technical superiority, and safety.  To learn more, visit AstroTurf’s newly redesigned website at