The 2021 Football Scoop Coaching Awards Presented by AstroTurf

In a year when terms like “NIL” and “transfer portal” captured headlines, it was the action on the field and the welcome sound of fans returning to stadiums that that highlighted the 2021 college football season.

And, boy, were there highlights.

For the first time since 2018, no team finished undefeated, a Group of Five team advanced to the college playoff and numerous colleges, universities accepted invitations to new conferences and numerous NCAA records were set on the field.

Still, the backbone of college football remains its coaches. And we are honored to announce the winners of the 2021 FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf. These awards are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football.

The finalists for each award were selected from nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic director personnel. The prior winners of the award then choose the winner from the list of finalists. If asked, most of the winners will tell you that this award means much more than others because it is chosen by their peers.  Now in its 13th year, the FootballScoop Awards presented by AstroTurf has grown into a highly anticipated event within the football coaching profession. Awards are handed out to the winners at a reception during the American Football Coaches Association Convention each year.

Offensive Coordinator of the Year – Jeff Grimes, Baylor

Defensive Coordinator of the Year – Jim Knowles, Oklahoma State

Quarterbacks Coach of the Year – Zach Kittley, Western Kentucky

Running Backs Coach of the Year – William Peagler, Michigan State

Wide Recievers Coach of the Year – Brian Hartline, Ohio State

Tight End Coach of the Year – Todd Hartley, Georgia

Offensive Line Coach of the Year  – Jim Harding, Utah

Defensive Line Coach of the Year – Shaun Nua, Michigan

Linebackers Coach of the Year – Ron Roberts and Caleb Collins, Baylor

Defensive Backs Coach of the Year – Phil Parker, Iowa State

Special Teams Coordinator of the Year – Jay Harbaugh, Michigan

Football Operations Director of the Year – Ben Thienes, San Jose State

Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year – Scott Sinclair, Georgia

FCS Coordinator of the Year – David Braun, North Dakota State

Division II Coordinator of the Year – Ryan Hodges, Ferris State

Division III Coordinator of the Year – Nick Brady, Delaware Valley

NAIA Coordinator of the Year – Andrew Rode, Morningside

FootballScoop and AstroTurf are excited to partner together to present these well-deserved awards each year.

For more information about each individual award, please visit

About FootballScoop

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.

About AstroTurf®

For athletes and sport enthusiasts, AstroTurf® has redefined the way the game is played. The brand offers advanced, state-of-the-art, multi-sport and specialized synthetic turf systems with proprietary engineered technologies. A growing number of high schools, colleges, professional sports teams and municipalities continue to select AstroTurf-branded products for their premium quality, technical superiority, and safety.  To learn more, visit AstroTurf’s newly redesigned website at